April 25, 2024

The Cortland Purple Dragons are the DIII soccer champions for the primary time in program historical past. A back-and-forth scoring match ended with one victor, as Cortland defeated North Central (IL) 38-37 to win the title.

In Friday’s matchup, each groups had been tied 31 a chunk with 7:16 left on the clock within the fourth quarter. Cortland’s Cole Burgess’ second TD of the evening got here on a 21-yard go from junior QB Zac Boyes with 1:41 left. North Central (IL) QB Luke Lehnen’s 60-yard TD go to DeAngelo Hardy gave the Cardinals a chance to win their fourth Stagg Bowl in a row, however a failed two-point conversion fell incomplete to shut out the sport.

Boyes accounted for 472 of Cortland’s 503 offensive yards, 349 by means of the air and 154 on the bottom.

Cortland finishes its first nationwide championship-winning season 14-1 general.

Right here is the schedule of the 2023 NCAA Division III soccer match:

2023 NCAA Division III soccer match schedule, scores

Opening Spherical: Saturday, Nov. 18

  • Mount Union 56, Alfred State 14 
  • Alma 32, DePauw 17
  • Cortland 28, Endicott 17
  • Grove Metropolis 21, Susquehanna 20
  • Johns Hopkins 62, Western Connecticut State 20
  • Union (NY) 24, Delaware Valley 16
  • Ithaca 21, Springfield 7
  • Randolph-Macon 28, Christopher Newport 20
  • Wisconsin-La Crosse 62, Minnesota-Morris 7
  • Aurora 20, Coe 7
  • Trinity (TX) 20, Hardin-Simmons 6 
  • North Central (IL) 65, Belhaven 0
  • Wartburg 49, Illinois Faculty 14
  • Wheaton (IL) 41, Mount St. Joseph 34 
  • Wisconsin-Whitewater 42, Bethel (MN) 14
  • Whitworth 42, Chapman 28

Second Spherical: Saturday, Nov. 25

Quarterfinals: Saturday, Dec. 2

Semifinals: Saturday, Dec. 9

Championship: Friday, December 15

2023 NCAA Division III soccer match bracket

DIII Football Bracket

Click on or faucet right here for a better take a look at the bracket

DIII Championship Historical past

12 months Champion Coach Rating Runner-Up Web site
2022 North Central (IL) Brad Spencer 28-21 Mount Union Annapolis, Maryland
2021 Mary Hardin-Baylor Pete Fredenburg 57-24 North Central Canton, Ohio
2020 Canceled as a consequence of Covid-19
2019 North Central (IL) Jeff Thorne 41-14 Wisconsin-Whitewater Shenandoah, Texas
2018 Mary Hardin-Baylor Pete Fredenburg 24-16 Mount Union Shenandoah, Texas
2017 Mount Union Vince Kehres 12-0 Mary Hardin-Baylor Salem, Va.
2016 Mary Hardin-Baylor Pete Fredenburg 10-7 Wisconsin-Oshkosh Salem, Va.
2015 Mount Union Vince Kehres 49-35 St. Thomas (Minn.) Salem, Va.
2014 Wisconsin-Whitewater Lance Leipold 43-34 Mount Union Salem, Va.
2013 Wisconsin-Whitewater Lance Leipold 52-14 Mount Union Salem, Va.
2012 Mount Union Larry Kehres 28-10 St. Thomas (Minn.) Salem, Va.
2011 Wisconsin-Whitewater Lance Leipold 13-10 Mount Union Salem, Va.
2010 Wisconsin-Whitewater Lance Leipold 31-21 Mount Union Salem, Va.
2009 Wisconsin-Whitewater Lance Leipold 38-28 Mount Union Salem, Va.
2008 Mount Union Larry Kehres 31-26 Wisconsin-Whitewater Salem, Va.
2007 Wisconsin-Whitewater Lance Leipold 31-21 Mount Union Salem, Va.
2006 Mount Union Larry Kehres 35-16 Wisconsin-Whitewater Salem, Va.
2005 Mount Union Larry Kehres 35-28 Wisconsin-Whitewater Salem, Va.
2004 Linfield Jay Locey 28-21 Mary Hardin-Baylor Salem, Va.
2003 St. John’s (Minn.) John Gagliardi 24-6 Mount Union Salem, Va.
2002 Mount Union Larry Kehres 48-7 Trinity (Texas) Salem, Va.
2001 Mount Union Larry Kehres 30-27 Bridgewater (Va.) Salem, Va.
2000 Mount Union Larry Kehres 10-7 St. John’s (Minn.) Salem, Va.
1999 Pacific Lutheran Frosty Westering 42-13 Rowan Salem, Va.
1998 Mount Union Larry Kehres 44-24 Rowan Salem, Va.
1997 Mount Union Larry Kehres 61-12 Lycoming Salem, Va.
1996 Mount Union Larry Kehres 56-24 Rowan Salem, Va.
1995 Wisconsin-La Crosse Roger Harring 36-7 Rowan Salem, Va.
1994 Albion Pete Schmidt 38-15 Washington & Jefferson Salem, Va.
1993 Mount Union Larry Kehres 34-24 Rowan Salem, Va.
1992 Wisconsin-La Crosse Roger Harring 16-12 Washington & Jefferson Bradenton, Fla.
1991 Ithaca Jim Butterfield 34-20 Dayton Bradenton, Fla.
1990 Allegheny Ken O’Keefe 21-14 Lycoming Bradenton, Fla.
1989 Dayton Mike Kelly 17-7 Union (N.Y.) Phenix Metropolis, Ala.
1988 Ithaca Jim Butterfield 39-24 Central (Iowa) Phenix Metropolis, Ala.
1987 Wagner Walkt Hameline 19-3 Dayton Phenix Metropolis, Ala.
1986 Augustana (Sick.) Bob Reade 31-3 Salisbury Phenix Metropolis, Ala.
1985 Augustana (Sick.) Bob Reade 20-7 Ithaca Phenix Metropolis, Ala.
1984 Augustana (Sick.) Bob Reade 21-12 Central (Iowa) Kings Island, Ohio
1983 Augustana (Sick.) Bob Reade 21-17 Union (N.Y.) Kings Island, Ohio
1982 West Georgia Bobby Pate 14-0 Augustana (N.Y.) Phenix Metropolis, Ala.
1981 Widener Invoice Manlove 24-10 Dayton Phenix Metropolis, Ala.
1980 Dayton Rick Carter 63-0 Ithaca Phenix Metropolis, Ala.
1979 Ithaca Jim Buttersfield 14-10 Wittenberg Phenix Metropolis, Ala.
1978 Baldwin-Wallace Lee Tressel 24-10 Wittenberg Phenix Metropolis, Ala.
1977 Widener Invoice Manlove 39-36 Wabash Phenix Metropolis, Ala.
1976 St.John’s (Minn.) John Gagliardi 31-28 Towson Phenix Metropolis, Ala.
1975 Wittenberg Dave Maurer 28-0 Ithaca Phenix Metropolis, Ala.
1974 Central (Iowa) Ron Schipper 10-8 Ithaca Phenix Metropolis, Ala.
1973 Wittenberg Dave Maurer 41-0 Juniata Phenix Metropolis, Ala.

2023-24 FCS Nationwide Championship Sport: Date, time, TV channel, historical past

This is all the things you’ll want to know in regards to the 2023-24 FCS Championship recreation.


The important information to the Harlon Hill Trophy

The Harlon Hill Trophy — the Heisman of DII soccer — is awarded yearly to the participant of the 12 months. This is what you’ll want to know in regards to the award’s namesake and historical past of previous winners.


Preview, prediction, and find out how to watch the DII soccer championship recreation

Colorado Faculty of Mines and Harding sq. off to crown the 2023 DII soccer nationwide champion. This is all the things you’ll want to know.


Supply Hyperlink : allamecom.com